19
Dec
08

More New Gear On The Way

Since I began the journey into SLR land i’ve always been keen to get my hands on a good wide-angle lens, as my current, main lens is only as wide as 28mm, which may be fine on a 35mm or Full-frame DSLR, but on a Cropped-Sensor DSLR such as the 400D i have, it’s really only 44mm wide. which gives relatively poor results for taking great landscapes of shooting indoors.

So I set about hunting out a great deal on a good quality lens. I read countless reviews and lens lens tests on all the major players, such as
Canon’s EF-s10-22mm USM
Sigma’s 10-20mm EX-DC HSM
Tamron’s 10-24mm F/3.5-4.5 Di-II
Tokina’s 12-24mm AT-X PRO DX
and also a number of different Canon EF Prime lenses.

I even went as far as taking my own body into a couple of stores to see how each lens felt on the camera and in my hands.
At the ned of the day I decided on the Sigma 10-20mm for it’s all round quality and build along with it’s intended purpose, a landscape lens.
I could have paid a lot more for a “faster” F2.8 Tokina but for the intended use, that speed is not really needed.
It was basically left to the Canon EF-S and the Sigma, but for the difference in price I could not justify the small difference in performance between the two, so naturally the cost saving gene took over and decided for me.

Now I just have to wait for it to be delivered….

6 Responses to “More New Gear On The Way”


  1. December 19, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Nice, can’t wait to see some photos from it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. December 19, 2008 at 8:40 am

    Yeah, can’t wait to get my hands on it….

    Will be brilliant for my trip to Thailand in March too!!

  3. December 19, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Hope you get a good one. Sigma lenses can be a bit hit and miss apparantly…

  4. December 19, 2008 at 10:41 am

    yeah, i mentioned that to a number of sources when purchasing it, and they all seem very confident in Sigma’s customer service when a “soft” sample is found and returned to them.
    i.e speedy changeover and very helpful. hopefully that doesn’t need to happen.

  5. January 6, 2009 at 2:46 am

    im having the same problem, my widest also on my 400d is 28mm w/c often is not enough.. i happen to try out the efs10-22 and i loved it… ill be getting one soon.

  6. January 6, 2009 at 10:08 am

    good choice ben,
    My Sigma actually arrived in my hands today and even a few test shots around the office and workshop have come up brilliantly. i can see it will get a massive workout both indoors and out!!

    can’t wait to take it for a stroll


Leave a Reply

Can’t find a specific post you’re looking for? Use the handy ‘Seach Box’ below.

Subscribe to Rob Brooks Photography RSS Feed

Photobucket
December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Copyright Notice

© Rob Brooks Photography, 2009. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

