21
Jan
09

First wedding shoot, pretty pleased

On the weekend just passed I had the pleasure/ challenge of shooting my first wedding for some friends of mine, although it was only the reception and some family portraits beforehand.
Given the constraints I had from time for shooting, the large amount of people and combinations that they wanted, and dealing with weather conditions (quite windy and late afternoon sun) I’m relatively happy with the raw results from the camera.
I would have liked extra time to get a lot more creative with the arrangements, but a late start, lengthening shadows and a schedule to stick to stiffled that a little.
However I am with the performance of the gear that I had at the time, and it has been a great learning experience for me in many ways. From the technical aspects of dealing with exposure metering, flash compensation and controlling depth of field to efficient arrangement of subjects and keeping things looking natural and not too posed.
Given the fact I have a close relationship with many of those I needed to shoot, made the job of ordering them around to do what I wanted a lot easier than it would have been with a bunch of strangers. And also being able to keep the whole experience pretty casual for us all made for some very natural shots.

The only real issue I had with my gear on the day is the gap in focal lengths I have between my 10-20mm and my 28-135mm. Due to the space I was working in and the group sizes I had, I found that I really need a lens covering the 17-40mm range if i’m going to continue doing this style of work. Also something with a wider aperture (F2.8 ) would have also given some nicer results in keeping the background out of focus a little more and making the subjects ‘pop’.
I found that I shot the majority at 28-40mm, but needed to change lenses to get a little extra width at 20mm on a couple of occasions.
**(also remember that I’m shooting with a 1.6x cropped sensor DSLR, so all focal lengths mentioned are multiplied by 1.6)**
The only other small issue I encountered was using “partial (centre 7% of frame) metering” in conjunction with “aperture priority” mode initially, which are my usual/ everyday-type settings. This gave me some over-exposed backgrounds as I had quite a lot of shadows on the subjects to deal with, which were within the metering zone of the camera.
A quick switch to fully manual control and evaluative metering soon brought things back into shape. This was also due to me having limited previous experience in using the speedlite in real world situations, and understanding fully the differences needed to gain correct exposures when using a speedlite.

Anyway, enough of a novel from me, as I have over 500 photo’s from the event to sort and edit, but all in all it was an enjoyable learning experience for me and I believe the happy couple will be pleased with the final results.

A few preview shots will be posted in due course…

Quick Edit and update:
Slowly getting there with the editing and should have some results by the end of today..
I NEEEEED a faster machine

UPDATE 2:

Editing is now completely complete, and i’m impressed with how the majority have come up, upon further inspection it appears that one person in the wedding party (the damn groom) is quite sensitive to the speedlite’s pre-flash.
but that was only on the occasions that i did not use the FEL function (Flash Exposure Lock)
some of the indoor shots lost a little detail in noise as I had to shoot at ISO 800 and a couple of times at 1600, but nothing that will stand out when printing at normal sizes.
Faster glass and better body will solve those issues in the future
A couple of sample images will be uploaded soon, once the couple have viewed them.

Has been a great learning experience for me, and I now know what I need to focus on and improve on next time around.

4 Responses to “First wedding shoot, pretty pleased”


  1. January 21, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    hey you are using my old wordpress theme! 😛

  2. January 21, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    yeah, not too many decent ones about.
    will get a nicer custom header done for it though.
    I need a site designer to come up with something cool!!

  3. January 27, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Yeah its pretty easy to change the header. Biggest problem with this one is that it is left justified and you cant centre it.

  4. January 28, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    ‘ere we are,
    a little bit of a play with a gif i found floating around the net and some different text.
    Just a little more “customised” than the basic package


Leave a Reply

Can’t find a specific post you’re looking for? Use the handy ‘Seach Box’ below.

Subscribe to Rob Brooks Photography RSS Feed

Photobucket
January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Copyright Notice

© Rob Brooks Photography, 2009. Unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

